NYOS Charter School

School Board Minutes

April 7, 2016

The NYOS School Board met in the Kramer library on April 7, 2016 with a 6:00 p.m. Call to Order by John Tintera. In attendance was Secretary Ean Fulks, Parliamentarian Kati Kieffer, along with Board members: Nick Giangiulio, Lisa Lamkin, Dr. April Michaud, Dr. Scott Gibby, Sophia Cartlidge, Toni Drengenberg, Samantha Gladwell, Clare Benish and Annemarie Manley. Members absent included John Tintera. Staff present included Kathleen Zimmermann, Alyssa Moore, Curtis Wilson, Terry Berkenhoff, Megan Lindbom, Bethany Watts and Christian Aviles.

Agenda

The Board discussed the items on the agenda. Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 3e. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 4a. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 4b1. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 4bII. The motion passed.

Lisa Lamkin moved to strike item 4c. The motion passed.

Unfinished Business/Public Comment

The Board discussed and voted on minutes for March 3, 2016. Nick Giangiulio moved to approve the March 3, 2016 minutes as amended. The motion passed.

Nicole Wilkerson took the floor on the behalf of the NYOS Fun Run Committee to update the Board on the upcoming event. She invited the Board to attend.

Christy Moffett took the floor as a parent and shared concerns with the proposed 2016-2017 school hours.

TAFE students presented the Board with examples for the topics that will be covered in June when the NYOS TAFE group goes to nationals.

Board New Business

The Board discussed and voted on policy changes to Student Module 400 Addendum 5 District Wide Parental Involvement Policy, Governance and Organization 200.120, general School Operations 300.100, and Human Resources 600.060 and 600.100. Nick Giangiulio moved to approve the Student Module 400 Addendum 5 District Wide Parental Involvement Policy, Governance and Organization 200.120, general School Operations 300.100, and Human Resources 600.060 and 600.100. The motion passed.

The Board discussed and voted on changes to Student Code of Conduct-Truancy Policy. Nick Giangiulio moved to approve changes to the Student Code of Conduct-Truancy Policy. The motion passed.

Kathleen Zimmermann discussed and the board voted on the statement of impact for Wayside Schools. Lisa Lamkin moved to approve the statement of impact for Wayside Schools. The Board voted there would not be any significant impact on NYOS and signed the statement.

The Board discussed and vote on Community Board member Christee Jackson. Sophia Cartlidge moved to accept Christee Jackson in to the Board as a Community Board member. The motion passed.

Kathleen Zimmermann presented and the Board reviewed the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification for 2016-2017.

The Board discussed school calendar, school start and end times for the 2016-2017 school year, and planned enrollment numbers for 2016-2017.

Christian Aviles took the floor to update the Board on STAAR testing processes.

Committees

The Executive Director Evaluation Committee member - John Tintera presented Kathleen Zimmermann with a signed recommendation letter for her employee file.

The Election Committee Chair-Nick Giangiulio reported that the election notifications have been posted and May 3, 2016 is the election at both campuses.

Other Business

The Board discussed the agenda items for May 12, 2016 meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Executive Session

Item 1: Texas Governance Code Section 551.072

Bronwyn Sanderson Recorder

Ean Fulks Secretary